Regional Ceramic Juried Competition

The University of Dallas is proud to host the 2015 University of Dallas Regional Juried Ceramic Competition. The celebration will gather contemporary ceramic artworks of the region, both functional and sculptural. The competition will offer an opportunity for ceramic artists to exhibit their work in the highly charged metropolitan area of North Texas. We look forward to giving Beatrice M. Haggerty Gallery visitors the opportunity to experience the mastery of the ceramic artists of our region.

2015 Juror: Eva Kwong

Eva Kwong

Eva Kwong was born in Hong Kong. She received a B.F.A. at the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) in Providence, Rhode Island and an M.F.A at the Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. She is a studio artist and adjunct faculty member at Kent State University, Kent, Ohio. Eva is known for her compelling, colorful and sensuous forms inspired by natural objects.

Eva has received numerous awards and was listed by the Getty Art Museum Arts Education program as one of America's most significant ceramic artists. She has been a visiting artist at University of Wisconsin in Manchester, England; RISD; the Art Institute of Chicago; Ohio State University; Cranbrook; Penland; Arrowmont; and at the South Australia Art Gallery. She has also served as a juror for a number of competitions and fellowships and been a presenter at MI Mud and NCECA.


Application deadline November 20, 2014
Notification of acceptance (via e-mail) December 1, 2014
Deadline for receipt of accepted work December 20, 2014
Exhibition open to public Jan. 21 – March 5, 2015
Juror lecture presentation February 13, 2015   6:30-7:00
Artists and juror reception February 13, 2015   7:00-9:00
Return of artwork March 6, 2015


Artists 18 years and older who currently reside in Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas are eligible to enter. All works submitted must be original, must use clay as the primary material, and must have been completed within the past two years.


The juror will determine acceptance into the show from digital images only (see following requirements). Accepted work may be disqualified if it differs significantly from the images submitted for that work. The "Award of Merit" and two "Best of Show" winners will be chosen from the original artwork after the exhibition is opened to the public, and will be announced at the reception. Artists may enter up to three works for a non-refundable fee of $30.00. Each single work may be represented by two images ONLY.

Digital Image Requirements

Files must be readable on both Mac and PC. Digital images must be JPG files with 300 dpi resolution and a width and/or height maximum of 1800 pixels/6 inches. Be sure to name your image files using the last four digits of your SSN followed by an underscore, then a letter/number combination indicating to which entry they apply. EXAMPLE: 1234_A1.jpg

All of the accepted digital images will be retained for media releases.

For notification of juror results please include an up to date e-mail address with application.

Entry - Deadline was November 20, 2014


List of accepted works

Lee Akins Adobe Vase  
Nancy Andrasko Pile of Sticks  
Candy Austin Oh This Weight  
Jefrey Barton Lidded Jar Mamo-Shaner  
Ariel Bowman Big Bingo: The Biggest Brute That Breathes Kala Nag
Chris Brandt Vogue Red Dress  
Barbara Brault Ode to My Backyard, Basket Series  
Du Chau Memory No. 18 (Dead April)  
Wangling Chou Chadam & Cheva: Eat More Apples!  
Carol Cook Slumber  
Brianna Deterling Cygnus  
Jan Dreskin-Haig Nerikomi Wave Vase  
Mark Epstein Tai Tea Jar  
Piero  Fenci Turbine  
Beverly Fetterman Celadon Teapot and Cup Ewer
Aaron Flynn Untitled (In Pink) #210  
Jeff Forster Reclaim Painting  
Whitney Forsyth Jacobs Ladder Chrysalis 
Barbara Frey Like This  
Jenny Gawronski Pitcher and Stand   
Linda Gossett A Very Good Man Can Be a Very Bad Boy  
Rivka Greenspan Untitled  
Margaret Haden Regrowth Vase #2 Landscape Vase 
Roy Hanscom 7 Lidded Form Long Lidded Form
Steven Hilton Questioning  
Doyle Jones Las Damas  
Jason Kishell Peeling the Past French Kiss
Chris  Leonard Two Two-Sided Texas Tommy Turtleneckers  
Silvia Lopez-Mendoza Ormanentation Vase  
Michelle Matthews Resist  
Virginia Marsh Solitaire  
Paul Mccoy Chamber III  
James Olney Collection of Woodfired Vases Woodfired Bottle
Thomas Perry Guardian Urn: Migration Guardian Urn: Their White Flower Departed
Cristiana Prado Rustic Penca  
John Reed Into Eternity  
Kristy Richard Timothy and Steve  
Sue Sanders Divergent  
Susan  Shiels Johnson Unbroken  
Liz Smith Cup Set Porcelain Bucket
Lance Timco Striped Raku Vessel  
James Tingey Four Part Vase Tubes (Tray)
Ralph Tobin Othello and Desdemona)  
Tabatha Trolli-Diloreto Lidded Jar  Pitcher
Sam Watson Teabowl  
Terri Wilder Koi Tea Set  
Marla Ziegler Short Story Profesorra


Procedure for Accepted Works

University of Dallas Ceramic Regional

Mail Entries To:

University of Dallas
Ceramic Regional
1845 East Northgate Drive
Irving, Texas 75062

The artist is responsible for shipping to and from the exhibition. Works must be sent in reusable, sturdy container via USPS, UPS, or Federal Express. Works should arrive ready for installation with special instructions included.

Include a check or money order payable to University of Dallas REGIONAL for return shipping and insurance.

All work must be received by December 20 in order to be installed into the exhibition.

Hand delivered accepted works will be received at the University of Dallas Beatrice M. Haggerty Gallery on:

December 19th from 12:00 p.m.–4:00 p.m.
December 20th from 10:00 a.m.–2:00 p.m.

For more information contact

University of Dallas/Art Department
1845 East Northgate Drive
Irving, Texas 75062
Phone: (972) 721-5319 or (972) 721-5316
Fax: (972) 721-4119


Indicate on your Entry Form/Exhibition Agreement if your work is for sale, and the sale price. Artist contact information will be provided on request. University of Dallas does not handle the sale nor keep a commission.


Two artists will be awarded "Best of Show". Each "Best of Show" award winner will be offered a solo exhibition to be scheduled within the following academic year at the University of Dallas. In addition to the "Best of Show" awards, there will also be multiple "Awards of Merit" given at the juror's discretion. (2013 Winners)

Sign In
Forgot Password? ×