Banner Image

Scholarships & Awards

The Clodecott Award

An engraved medallion is presented each year to the author/illustrator of the best children's book written in that calendar year in the Child and Young Adult Literature course (EDU 3322). The name of the award is a parody on the Caldecott Award, which is given by the American Library Association to the best illustrated book of the year for children. The Clodecott Award is named for Dr. Cherie Clodfelter, longtime chair of the Department and professor emerita.

The winner of the 2013 Clodecott Award is Lindsey Landgrover, with her book The Adventures of Lilly the Silly Pirate.

Clodecott Winners 2012

(From left to right: Kathryn Hennessy, Clodecott Honor Award Winner; Dr. Cherie Clodfelter; Mary Clare Mulhern, Clodecott Honor Award Winner; Lindsey Landgrover, Clodecott Award Winner)


The Teller Award

Established by the alumni and faculty of the Department, this award is named for Professor Emeritus James D. Teller and is awarded in May to the most outstanding student in the Department of Education based upon scholastic achievement, leadership ability and potential as a teacher.

The winners of the 2013 Teller Award are Ana Rodriguez and Lucy Hellerman.


The Hazel McDermott Outstanding Student Teacher Award

Established in 1992, this award is reserved for an outstanding student teacher. Not presented regularly, the Hazel McDermott Award honors the student whose experience in the classroom has reflected the highest ideals in teaching. Named in honor of Dr. Hazel McDermott, professor and certification officer from 1975-1992, the award is given only when there is a student teacher of rare caliber.

The winner of the Hazel McDermott Outstanding Student Teacher award for 2013 is Ellie Tasler.


The Teller Endowed Scholarship

The Teller Endowed Scholarship was established by the Teller family after the deaths of Dr. and Mrs. Teller in 2000. The wills of the Tellers provide monies from an endowment to be awarded to a student at the University of Dallas who plans to teach above the primary education level. The Scholarship is awarded only when there is a candidate of worthy consideration. The student must be returning to the University the following semester to take Education courses.

2012 Teller Endowed Scholarship winner is Elise Dinehart.



Sign In
Forgot Password? ×