Banner Image
  • Department of Mathematics
    1845 E Northgate Dr
    Irving, TX 75062
    Phone: 972-721-5175
    Fax: 972-721-4148

  • Fill out my online form.

Success Stories


"UD math students delve deeper..."

UD Mathematics Department Number One
in Percentage of BA's to Later Earn Ph.D.s




Hoai-Ngoc NgoMath Major Wins Award at Conference

In April of 2013, senior mathematics major Hoai-Ngoc Ngo presented her research in Biomathematics at the 93rd annual Texas section meeting of the Mathematical Association of America. The conference drew faculty and students from across the state, contributing 100 talks in total, nearly half of which were by undergraduates presenting their research. For her talk titled, “Diversity and Homogeneity Revealed in SSR Analyses of NCGR Cultivars,” Ngoc received first prize for the depth of her research as well as her exceptional presentation. In her research, Ngoc applied both statistical techniques and vector analysis to the problem of determining the genetic “fingerprints” of cranberry cultivars. Since previous crosses of cranberry cultivars have produced advantageous offspring, the goal of this research was to assist in the process of developing new and desirable cranberry cultivars. Using her statistical and mathematical techniques, Ngoc was able to find many discrepancies within previously identified cultivars, and consequently she was able to demonstrate the need to change the approach used to determine the pedigrees of these cultivars.


Outstanding Mathematics Majors

2014  Sarah Nicholson

2013  Elizabeth Tasler

2012   Jeremy Smith

2011   Joseph Simmons

2010   Benjamin White

2009   Rafael Carrasco

2008   Joseph Hejkal

2005   Michael Humphries

2004   Joshua Cole

2003   Gregory Nicholas Benes

2002   Travis Brown

2001   Jonathan Engle

1999   Jane Burkett, Carol Gwosdz, Alena Oetting

1997   Tyson Kackley, Nicola Mullan, Erin Vculek

1995-1996   Tyson Kackley, Brian Klingele

1993-1994   Tyson Kackley, Sean Walbran

1992-1993   Philip Muth

1991-1992   Allison Eskritt, Sean Walbran

1990-1991   Sally O'Neill, Paul Speaker

1989-1990   Sally O'Neill, John Pickert

Sign In
Forgot Password? ×