History, BA

The purpose of history is to seek knowledge of the truth about the human past and, through that study, understanding of human conduct.

The purpose of history is to seek knowledge of the truth about the human past and, through that study, understanding of human conduct. History is a subject particularly appropriate to the University of Dallas, which defines its purpose in terms of the renewal of the Western heritage of liberal learning and the recovery of the Christian intellectual tradition.

History is a subject particularly appropriate to the University of Dallas, which defines its purpose in terms of the renewal of the Western heritage of liberal learning and the recovery of the Christian intellectual tradition.

History provides a unique bridge between the two. As a discipline, it was created by the Greeks and taken up as an intellectual pursuit by the Romans, one of whom—Cicero—called it "The light of truth, the witness of time, the mistress of life." It represents the Greco-Roman cultural tradition which lies at the foundation of the Western heritage in an especially powerful way. History is also of particular relevance to the Judeo-Christian tradition, which is predicated on the significance of events in time as revelatory of the relationship of man to God.

History Faculty

Robert Ansiaux, Ph.D., J.D.

Robert Ansiaux, PhD, JD

Adjunct Professor, History

Email: ransiaux@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #230

William Atto, Ph.D.

William Atto, PhD

Department Chair, Associate Professor, History

Phone: (972) 721-5340

Email: atto@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #244

Kelly Gibson, Ph.D.

Kelly Gibson, PhD

Associate Professor, History

Phone: (972) 721-5370

Email: kgibson@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #260

Susan Hanssen, Ph.D.

Susan Hanssen, PhD

Associate Professor, History

Phone: (972) 265-5728

Email: shanssen@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #242

Peter Hatlie, Ph.D.

Peter Hatlie, PhD

Professor, Classics

Email: phatlie@udallas.edu

Office: UD Rome Campus

Jon Paul Heyne, Ph.D

Jon Paul Heyne, PhD

Assistant Professor, History

Phone: (972) 721-5247

Email: jheyne@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #238

Placeholder Photo

Thomas Jodziewicz, PhD

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, History

Mark Petersen, Ph.D.

Mark Petersen, PhD

Associate Professor of History, Director of Latin American Studies

Phone: (972) 265-5857

Email: mpetersen@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #268

Charles Sullivan, Ph.D.

Charles Sullivan, PhD

Associate Professor, History

Phone: (972) 721-5251

Email: sullivan@udallas.edu

Office: Braniff Graduate Building #204