Molecular Biology, Concentration

Molecular biology is an interdisciplinary science incorporating the study of cell biology, genetics and biochemistry. The field relies on fundamental tenets of recombinant DNA technology that allow genes to be isolated, characterized and expressed in organisms that may be completely unrelated. The concentration in molecular biology is designed to provide the essential background knowledge and hands-on experience required to master this rapidly advancing discipline.

Concentration Requirements

SEM

Required courses:

BIO 3325, 3125 Genetics/Genetics Laboratory
BIO 4328, 4128 Molecular Biology/Molecular Biology Laboratory
CHE 3335, 3135 Biochemistry I/Biochemistry Laboratory
Research/Internship: Offered through the student’s major department. 3 credit hours

One course from:
BIO 3329 Developmental Biology 
BIO 4338 Cell Structure and Function

One course from:
PHI 4333 Philosophy of Science
OR 4334 Bioethics
OR 5332 Philosophy of Technology 

 

Related Programs

Two students studying a test tube in white lab coats

Biochemistry

Test

Biology

Two students with beaker of yellow liquid

Chemistry

Biology Faculty

Dr. Bihmidine

Saadia Bihmidine, PhD

Assistant Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5045

Email: sbihmidine@udallas.edu

Office: Haggerty Science Center #28

William Cody

William Cody, PhD

Associate Professor and Chair, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5192

Email: wcody@udallas.edu

Office: Patrick E. Haggerty Science Center #139

Dr. Frank Doe

Frank Doe, PhD

Professor Emeritus, Biology

Carla Pezzia, Ph.D.

Carla Pezzia, PhD

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 265-5719

Email: cpezzia@udallas.edu

Office: Haggerty Science Center #140

Adriana Roman

Adriana Roman, MS

Affiliate Assistant Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5168

Email: aroman1@udallas.edu

Office: Haggerty Science Center #111 A

Deanna Soper, Ph.D.

Deanna Soper, PhD

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5245

Email: dsoper@udallas.edu

Office: Patrick E. Haggerty Science Center #145

Dr. Drew Stenesen

Drew Stenesen, PhD

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5047

Email: dstenesen@udallas.edu

Office: Patrick E. Haggerty Science Center #143

Dr. Inimary Toby

Inimary Toby, PhD

Associate Professor, Biology

Phone: (972) 721-5109

Email: itoby@udallas.edu

Office: Haggerty Science Center #141