Skip to Main Content

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most respected undergraduate honors organization in the United States. The Society has pursued its mission of fostering and recognizing excellence in the liberal arts and sciences since 1776.

Phi Beta Kappa sets high standards not only for the selection of students elected to membership but also for the institutions which may claim a chapter. Chapters are granted to the Phi Beta Kappa members of the faculty and administration of the sheltering institution. Following a lengthy process of documentation by the Phi Beta Kappa members of the faculty and administrative staff, the University of Dallas was chartered as the Eta Chapter of Texas in 1989.

Each year, the resident members of the chapter elect new members from among those senior and junior undergraduate students majoring in liberal arts and sciences who have demonstrated broad cultural interests, scholarly achievement, and good character. Occasionally, graduate and faculty members are elected as well. These newly-elected members are inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society at a ceremony held shortly before the spring graduation.

Learn more about why Phi Beta Kappa matters when choosing a college.

A Welcome to the Newest Phi Beta Kappa Members from Dr. Bainard Cowan

2020 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees


Rayan Ahmed
Bryce Baumann
John Cavanna
Vincent Christianson
Paul Devlin
Rose Dougherty
Marlena Figge
Christiane Flynn
Sophia Forget
Patrick Friddle
Teresa Gahan
Hope Gniewek
Anastasia Heiser
Sarah Henriquez
Adam Jace
John James
Mary Johnson
Therese Klauck
Teresa Linn
Noah Lombardozzi
Aidan Medcalf
Giada Mirelli
David Morales
Quinn O'Grady
Thomas Pecha
Ajla Pervan
William Rackers
Maria Rossini
Julia Rowley
Nina Ryalls
Rose Safranek
Mary Starnes
Rachel Teti
Teresa Vall
Madison Vielhauer
Zane Williams
Yeabkal Wubshit
Stephanie Yamauchi



Jasmine Adams
Patrick Andrews
Kathleen Blute
Carroll Broussard
John Luke Hoonhout
Samuel Korb
Ann Urbanski


Professors Awarded NEH Grant to Support Writing Programs

Chair and Associate Professor of English Debra Romanick Baldwin, Ph.D., and Professor of Physics and recent Interim Dean of Constantin College Sally Hicks, Ph.D., have secured a $299,078 grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to support writing instruction at UD for the fall 2020 semester.

+ Read More

You Can Do What with a (Spanish) Degree?

His first step was to enroll in physician’s assistant school at Baylor’s College of Medicine, a career trajectory to which he had aspired since his early childhood. Nowadays, Jonathan Cunningham, BA ’17, is dedicated to the vocational pursuit of comfort and healing at MD Anderson in Houston, among the largest cancer treatment centers in the U.S., where he was once a chemotherapy patient himself.

+ Read More

History Alumnus Heads National Catholic Bioethics Center

During his Rome semester in 1991, Joseph Meaney, BA '93, with his friends (now Father) Kevin Cook, BA '94, and (now Texas State Representative and UD Trustee) Tan Parker, BA '93, attended a private Mass with Pope St. John Paul II. Several weeks earlier, they had hand-delivered a letter to the Swiss Guards outside St. Peter's requesting the Mass and including their contact information; at last, they'd received the phone call instructing them to be at the Bronze Gates at 5 a.m.

+ Read More