Skip to Main Content

Goldwater Scholarship Recipients

University of Dallas Barry Goldwater Scholarship Recipients

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship is awarded by the Goldwater Foundation to college sophomores and juniors pursuing research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering. The intent of the Goldwater Foundation is to help increase the number of highly qualified professionals in these important fields within the United States. Winners tend to have GPAs of about 3.9, be involved in strong, long-term science-connected extracurricular activities, and have plans to earn a Ph.D. in science, engineering or mathematics. Students with questions about applying for the Goldwater Scholarship should contact Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry Ellen Steinmiller, Ph.D., at 972-721-5110 or


Name of Recipient Area of Study Year Awarded
Luisa Velasco  Physics  2020
Sarah Ana Henriquez  Biology  2019
Paul Devlin  Computer Science  2019
Sebastian Scofield  Biology  2013
Anna Marie De La Rosa  Chemistry  2011
Dustrin Baldridge  Biology  2001
Carol Gwodsz Gee  Mathematics  1998
Sean Walbran  Physics   1992
Elizabeth Reisinger  Physics  1991

Honorable Mentions

Name  Area of Study Year Mentioned
William Zimmerman Physics 2015
Justin Samorajski Biochemistry 2011
John Boyle Biology 2009



How Do You Build the Perfect Sandcastle?

According to a team of University of Dallas juniors, there's an optimal water-to-sand ratio, roughly 6%, along with a borrowed methodology that's endured the test of time dating back to the relics of the Old Kingdom. The students' research, titled "The Best Sandcastles Are Egyptian: Pyramids Reign Supreme," was awarded a Meritorious designation in the International Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) -- a first in university history.

+ Read More

Alumnus Named Among 2020 Most Influential Black Executives in Corporate America

Savoy, the leading African American business and lifestyle magazine, recently dubbed University of Dallas alumnus and Gupta College of Business Hall of Fame recipient Irvin Ashford Jr., MBA '00, among its 2020 list of elite Black executives. The listing garnered Ashford industry recognition along with the likes of Robert Smith, billionaire founder of Vista Equity Partners, out of more than 500 prospective candidates.

+ Read More

University Announces New AVP for Marketing, Communications

The University of Dallas has announced a new assistant vice president for marketing and communications. Clare Venegas, who has over 20 years of executive management and strategic communications experience in the private, public and nonprofit sectors, begins her new role on Aug. 3.

+ Read More